Good Book Writers Don’t Give Up

gorgeous-color-magazine-vef-woman

Bonjour
Good book writers don’t you give up. That’s my motto. But I’ve certainly got no great expectations about having a book published anytime soon. I do tend to spend a lot of my precious waking life conducting online research into the subjects of book writing and self publishing. I feel like giving up on the dream that my work will ever be seen in print. I’m probably not what’s commonly known as a talented writer, in fact I struggle to type legible sentences. My writing is not what you’d call ‘up to scratch’ and usually has a lot of word clangers. Yep! Used a cliché in a post last week only to learn that it wasn’t a fantastic idea so took it out. Honestly I prefer to play with words and often decide to place a word in a verse when it suits my whim.

Oh! I truly enjoy writing on impulse, this is a lazy way of expression, and not being too concerned about grammatical correctness. Undertook French language studies at high school and the only word I can remember with any clarity is bonjour, it translates to good morning or hello in English. Why am I persevering with this book notion if I can’t write properly? Guess I’ll stick to blogging, no one cares too much if I get it all wrong. Ha!Ha!

Stumbled upon this article by Australian writer Ian Irvine while browsing and I think it’s certainly worth a good read. Oops! Don’t cry before you reach the end like I did. Snipped a bit from the page to add to this post and a link.

The image used on my page is amazing but I don’t know who the owner is to give credit. Images on this blog are sometimes found on the Internet and permission to post is sort so as not to infringe copyright. The artist who created image used on top of this page has now contacted me and I am delighted to give credit and a link which applies to this lovely picture.

I’ve toyed with the idea of a co-author scenario, just not sure how this would work in practice? If you are interested this project my email address is on Vef contact page. Recently looked up the word clanger and it means a bad or embarrassing mistake. Okay so I can’t see clearly enough to proof read this text any further. BooHoo! It’s been another sleepless night and I’m needing a frightfully long snooze.

Creative writing by Michelle Voynet

Image © Alaya Gadeh and Elizabeth May

red-scroll-page-separator

Published by

Ms Julia Voynet

Ms Julia Voynet is an author, blogger and writer. Gender equality is achievable only when coequal (non sexist) words are used in our language. This includes all gender related words that are printed, spoken or written.

8 thoughts on “Good Book Writers Don’t Give Up”

  1. Hello, my name is Alaya Gadeh and I can see above an image of mine and Elizabeth May. Why is our image here and why it has no Copyright or credit the author? In which relation is it standing with this article about “Good book writers don’t give up…” I am interested or better to say I do not understand. It is nice if you like my image and show it here but it would be kind if you`d ask me next time. I also have found some more images of mine on this site. Basically it is not allowed to simply use an image without permission. Please credit the Copyright holders. © Alaya Gadeh & Elizabeth May

    1. Hello Alaya, I am very happy you made contact with me about using your beautiful images on this site. Firstly I would like to offer sincere apology that Copyright and author credit was not properly given. So now I will correct the situation and post a link on Vefword.com to your Facebook page. In future I will be sure to ask permission to use any of your pictures. I hope this is satisfactory to you? Sending best wishes 🙂

    1. It’s a pleasure to follow you. I can well believe what your tutor says. I’ve been trying to write a book for ten years and unless I give up Internet for awhile I’ll never get it finished.

  2. Your images are beautiful. Are the images attached to your blog posts your own original artwork? Regardless, they’re stunning! Thanks for the “follow”. Look forward to reading more of your posts.

    1. Oh it’s a genuine pleasure to follow your blog. Many of the images posted on my blog have been found on the Internet over a long period of time and I do try to credit these pictures with a link to owners of them. Some of the images on my blog are original when I have enough time to produce them. Wonderful to connect to your blog and I’ll certainly enjoy hours of reading.

Let your fingers do the talking